Kongu Velir who translated the Brihatkatha in Sanskrit into Tamil Perungathai
(one of the aiynkurun kappiyams or the five smaller epics)(14th cent Vijayamangalam)

Late Palanisamy Gounder, Former Principal of Madras Law college, Former Director of Legal Studies, and Former TNPSC Board member.

Pulavar Kuzhanthai - Dravidian literarian who wrote the Ravana Kaviyam.

Dr. V.C. Kulandaiswam - Academician and renowned author. Formerly Vice Chancellor of Madurai University, Anna University, IGNOU and Tamil Virtual University. Padma Shri(1992), Padma Bhushan (2002).

P.A. Venkatachalam - Founding Professor, Department of Computer Science/School of Computer Science and Engineering, College of Engineering, Guindy, Anna University.

R.M. Vasagam - Project Director for APPLE, India's first experimental Geostationary Communication Satellite Project during 1977-83. Vice- Chancellor of Dr. M.G.R. Deemed University, formerly Vice- Chancellor of Anna University. Padma Shri (1982).

C. Subramaniam - Vice-Chancellor of the Tamil University, Thanjavur.

Sirpi Balasubramaniam - Winner of two Sahithya Academy awards, Former Professor and Head of Tamil Department, Bharathiar University.

P.K. Ponnusamy - Former Vice-chancellor, Madras University and Madurai Kamaraj University.

C. Ramasamy - Vice-Chancellor, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore.

Silamboli S. Chellappan - Tamil Scholar. He was Registrar, Tamil University, Thanjavur, Director, Directorate of Tamil Development, and Director, International Institute for Tamil Studies. Awarded Kalaimamani Award and Pavendhar Bharathidasan Award.

K.R. Palaniswamy - Former president of the Indian Society of Gastroenterology. Awarded the Padma Shri for 2006. He was awarded the FRCP Glasgow. He was instrumental in founding the department of Gastroenterology at Stanley Medical College, Chennai.

Pulavar S. Rasu - Kongu Research Centre founder.

K.R.V 'Raja' Subramanian - co-founded AnswerPal(Ascendum Systems). Served as Professor of Computer Science and Dean of Distance Learning at BITS, Pilani.

K.S. Ranga Samy, Founder and Chair man of K.S.R Educational institution,Tiruchengode.

Dr. K.S. Janakarathnam - Former President, Gobi Arts & Science College, Gobichettipalayam during 1973-89.